In the early 1970s, upon the promulgation and implementation of the first banking law in Macao, The Macau Association of Banks ("ABM") was established officially on 20 December 1985 under the advocacy of the well-respected community leader, Mr. Ho Yin and with unreserved support from the former Executive Director & General Manager of Tai Fung Bank Limited, Mr. Edmund Hau Wah Ho, who became the founding Chairman of ABM.
ABM is composed of the General Assembly, the Board of Directors, the Executive Committee and the Supervisory Board. The General Assembly elects the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Board every three years. Currently, Bank of China Limited is the Chairman of ABM, with Banco Nacional Ultramarino S.A., Tai Fung Bank Limited, and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited as Vice Chairmen. The Supervisory Board is presided by China Construction Bank Corporation. Under the Board of Directors are the Technical Working Group, the Training and Education Committee, the Sport and Recreation Committee, the Finance Affairs Committee and the Secretariat, which are responsible for ABM's daily operation.
Over the past 35 years, ABM has been promoting its functionalities, contributing in accordance with its aims, strengthening the stability and prosperity of Macao and supporting the growth of Macao's financial sector. Banks in Macao, the Monetary Authority of Macao, government departments and the social community all recognise the achievements of ABM.
With the continuous support of all its member banks, ABM will continue to contribute to the stability and development of Macao's financial sector, improve the operation of the financial market, support the government in establishing relevant financial regulations, protect the legal interests of member banks and commit to strive for the utmost towards the performance of its responsibilities in the future.